Snapshots from Pramuka Island


Last month I went to Pramuka Island for a vacation. Of course I don’t pay for this vacation by myself, it’s a free-of-charge 2 nights and 3 days trip for all the core team of TOSSAKA 7th. It’s uncommon for me, because mostly I spend my college holiday by staying at home, cooking, playing games, watching movies, or posting on blog, sorta activities that’s not required to spend too much money. I’m very penurious, you know.

Okay, back to the topic. Vacation on Pramuka Island. You might be asking me “Where is it?” Pramuka Island is a small island inside Seribu Islands, or also known as Thousands Islands, near Jakarta (yes, in Indonesia there is an islands that named equal to a famous sauce that you put on top of your salad as a dressing :D). The only transportation we can use to visit it is using public boat from Muara Angke, North Jakarta. The time to reach Pramuka Island from Muara Angke is about two and a half hour. So, if you have a seasick problem (including me), please take your anti-seasick pill before. Here is the map if you are curious about it, but I won’t show you where is Pramuka Island *evil grin*:

The facilities in Pramuka Island is quite good, because there you could find a government-level hospital, schools, local government office, mosque, well-facilitated homesteads, and nature conservation for turtles and mangrove trees.

Our main activity there is snorkeling. It’s like diving but only on the surface of the sea, because if I’m not mistaken, someone only can do diving if they are already certified.

  • Day 1: Arrived to Pramuka Island at 9 PM with a nausea feeling. But the sea water is very clear, and there are so many beautiful fish even in the quayside area (never seen it in Ancol or Anyer beach :P). We did snorkeling equipment fitting and habituation at the quayside of the island before start snorkeling on Day 2. There are so many sea urchins inside the quayside of the sea, it’s a horrifying black, long-spined sea creäture that I hate the most. FYI, the amount of sea urchins in an area describe how polluted the water there. If you found many sea urchins, it means the water is a bit polluted (only a bit, because if the water is extremely polluted like in Ancol, you will found nothing but detritus).
  • Day 2: Finally did a snorkeling but not in Pramuka Island. We went to Air Island and Semak Daun Island using boat. The underwater scenery near Air Island is splendid! I’m glad to be able seeing it with my bare eyes, not just on the TV. But if we meet so many sea urchins on Day 1, at this day we met so many tiny jellyfish instead. They could be cuter if they don’t sting. Sigh. After we had lunch on the boat, we swam to Semak Daun Island. The sand there was beautifully clear-white, the island was remote and very small  that you could go around the island in 30 minutes by walking. It’s such an unforgettable pleasing view that I ever see in my life. We ended the second night by doing a BBQ at Pramuka Island.
  • Day 3: Actually doing nothing, I just go around the island with my boyfriend in the morning, it takes about 1-2 hours to do it. Unfortunately, the resident there doesn’t taking care of their household waste. There is so many plastic waste in the island that makes the scenery less beautiful. But they are very kind to the strangers. We went back to Muara Angke at 1 PM after did Dzuhur prayer on the island’s mosque (it’s surprisingly very clean). The seawaves again, made all the people inside the boat having a serious seasick, even after taking a anti-seasick pill :).

So here is the slideshow of our activities in Pramuka Island. It’s not belong to me (I have no camera, I’ m just a poor blogger *sob*), so please, please, pleeease, don’t use it without my permission.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

PS: Thanks a lot for the TOSSAKA 7th for this impressive yet free vacation! :)

Leave a comment